Two Weeks Later…

…9 posts, nearly 200 views, a few comments later – and I’m loving it!  I am happy with this blog a couple weeks after its inception, and I’m a bit surprised.  I used to think that I hated writing.  Now, I’m finding that I love it.  It still causes me to shake my head.

I attended a conference about blogging this past week.  Timesunion.com and The College of Saint Rose teamed up on an event called Media 2010: How Blogs Shape the New Conversation.  Five panelists provided their insight and experiences within the blogosphere.

What did I learn?  More than I expected.  How about this:

  • Blogging is extremely prolific, and quite diverse.  (Ok, not a huge revelation.)
  • Successful blogs are not necessarily the biggest blogs.  They convey the passions of the author.  Frequent postings are helpful.
  • A sense of community and interaction take blogs to the next level.  They become conversations, many times in surprising fashion.
  • Controversy can be expected and encouraged.

Here’s how I want to apply what I learned:

  • I intend to publish at least 3 or 4 posts per week.
  • I will do my best to convey my passionate opinions.
  • I will be controversial on occasion.  Feel free to disagree.
  • I have no intention to limit comments except in cases where they are profane, harmful, or downright nasty.
  • I reserve the right to continue learning within this blogging process.

I’m hooked.  I’m even linking to family and friends’ blogs that cover a wide range of topics:  from inspiration to alpacas to adult education.  If you have a passion… write about it.  I’d like to read it.

Last semester, my Public Relations instructor at The College of Saint Rose said, “Find your voice.”  I think I’ve found mine.  What do you think?

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I think you are awesome and I love your blog! Keep blogging – I am hooked too.

    Great post today.

    Reply
  2. Likewise! (Didya’ note the quick reference to your blog?)

    Reply
  3. I did! Thank you so much. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Michael Huber

     /  March 5, 2010

    Thanks for coming to the bloggy event. You’re so right about blogging. In order to ‘succeed,’ it has to be a disciplined approach with regular posts. Looks like you’re doing just fine.
    Mike Huber, timesunion.com

    Reply
  5. Thanks Mike. I appreciate the positive feedback!

    Reply
  6. Wade: Glad you enjoyed the conference.

    I’ve read a few posts from bloggers who didn’t find the event particularly useful. Personally, I hope I never get to the point where I think I know everything.

    Keep up the writing!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the encouragement Rob. I am enjoying blogging so far. The event was very useful in my opinion, especially since I am a new blogger.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
