The Eyeball & Super Timmy

A little background… I have the very exciting, and often challenging role of leading the children’s sermon at my church.  Our process is to have one of the kids take home a large plastic tool box each week.  The following Sunday, they bring the box back with something in it.  I have seen toys, books, stuffed animals, trophies, even a bowling pin and a sock.  My job is to come up with an appropriate, and hopefully Biblically based story that relates to whatever is in the box.  It’s not an original idea.  I’ve seen it done at another church we attended in Lynchburg, Virginia.  It definitely keeps me on my toes.

Yesterday, I opened the box to find a plastic jar, half-filled with little rubber super-balls.  Yikes.  Where was I going with this?  As I stalled for time, I was relieved to find out that one of the balls was designed to look like an eyeball.  That led me to talk about how the Old Testament refers to “an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth.”  And this was countered by Jesus in the New Testament when he told his followers that they should love their enemies.  I asked the children how Jesus would want them to treat somebody who had pushed them down at the playground.

And that’s when my own son spoke up.  Timothy promptly stood up, declared himself “Super Timmy,” and said, “If someone pushed me, they are bad, and I would have to beat them up.”  The congregation thought this hilarious.  I just shook my head and said, “I better have a talk with your dad.  He needs to do a better job of teaching you to love your enemies.”  The congregation roared with laughter.

It made for a great lesson.  My lesson in humility didn’t hurt either.

Sigh.  I wonder what will be in the box next week.  So does Super Timmy.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wade, this is super cute. You may want to print this out and put it in his baby book. You handled it like a pro. Thanks for sharing this great story.

    Reply
  2. That’s a great idea Alicia. Timothy is frequently coming up with something that we should write down and save. Out of the mouths of babes…. come really strange and hysterical statements?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    February 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
